Sanjay Crowned MRF 2000 Champion

   Feb 01,2023

Sai Sanjay took the overall victory over Ryan Mohamed and Divy Nandan. His two podium results were enough to put him ahead.

Balu won his 11th national championship, while Pratik Sonawane and Viswas Vijayraj won the Polo Cup and Formula LGB 1300, respectively.


The MRF MMSC Indian National Car Racing Championship's postponed 2022 season concluded with a final round at the Madras International Circuit. The big winners were Sai Sanjay and Arjun Balu, who won the MRF Formula 2000 (F2000) and Indian Touring Cars' titles, respectively.

Viswas Vijay raj won the Formula LGB 1300 championship, while Pratik Sonawane won the revived Polo Cup series.

Touring Cars in India

Several top drivers were disqualified from the Indian Touring Cars races owing to technical violations. Arjun Balu of Race Concepts and Arjun Narendran of Arka Motorsports, who finished first and second in Race 1, were later disqualified.

Narendran was also disqualified from Race 2, but he returned to win Race 3. However, Balu's victory in Race 2 and second place in Race 3 was enough to secure the championship. This is the veteran racer's eleventh national championship.

MRF F2000

The MRF F2000 class title decider was dramatic, with five drivers vying for victory coming into the finish. Sohil Shah dominated the weekend, winning all three events. However, the 21-year-old Bengaluru native had to miss two of the four rounds this season, settling for fourth overall.

Sai Sanjay's two podium finishes were enough to give him the overall victory over Ryan Mohamed and Divy Nandan.

Formula LGB 1300 

Raghul Rangasamy (M Sport), the initial Formula LGB 1300 class leader, was disqualified for ignoring a black flag in the last race. Viswas Vijay raj (DTS Racing) was able to secure the championship by finishing second behind Tijil Rao (Momentum Motorsports).

Polo Cup

The restored Polo Cup returned to the national championship in the penultimate round when Volkswagen Motorsport India operations were handed over to Rayo Racing. Sandeep Kumar dominated that round. However, because he was only a guest driver, Pratik Sonawane took over the overall championship lead.

Sonawane won the championship despite not winning a race in the final. In the round, he did make one podium performance, placing second in Race 1. 

Ritesh Rai won the Super Stock and Akkineni Anand Prasad won the Indian Junior Touring Cars' titles. Justin Singh won the MRF Saloons class, which featured the Toyota Etios.

Want more of the world of automotive–check out the social media pages of GoMotoring. Connect anywhere, TwitterFacebook, and Instagram.


John Doe
A Former Bike Champion MS Prince has a good start in Rally Racing

Maninder Singh Prince won a National Championship in motorcy...

John Doe
Honda Motorcycle is joining the two-wheeler EV race

Honda's worldwide two-wheeler electrification strategy calls...

John Doe
Bajaj Launched Updated Version of Pulsar NS160 and NS200

The prices of the long-awaited Bajaj Pulsar NS160 and NS200...