Max Verstappen Won Mexican GP and Sets New Record

   Nov 05,2022

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen dominates the Mexico City Grand Prix and set a new record for maximum Formula 1 victory in a season. With his 14th win this year he sealed his second world championship.


Lewis Hamilton ended up finishing a distant second and is followed by Sergio Perez. Mercedes and Fred Bull chose two different tyre systems for the race. While Mercedes drivers began the race on medium compounds, Red Bull kept its drivers on softs. Verstappen had a clean gateway from the pole position and stayed strongly in control at the front to make an easy win.

Verstappen wrapped up the 2022 F1 championship in Japan and with his 14th win this season he managed to make another record to his name. He moved to pass Michael Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel’s prior record of 13 wins. This year’s calendar was much longer with 22 races as compared to the past. There were 18 races in the 2004 season, while 19 races in the 2013 season.

He further confirmed that despite all the success, he ran out of patience. “I can’t accept disrespect. I have decided to stop answering as I will not tolerate it anymore.” He proved his worth on track. Mercedes tried their level best with brave effort on alternate tyre strategy but did not beat the pace of Red Bull.

The Mercedes took a chance on taking a hard rubber over Red Bull’s medium and they were not able to take a fight to the world champion.

George Russel and Hamilton of Mercedes were not able to mount a challenge for victory. Both the drivers complained about a deficit of pace on the hard tyres they opted for. Hamilton pointed out that recent updates of a team worked.

Hamilton (seven-time world champion), has two races left to maintain the record of conquering a race in every season. Perez, who was in front of his home crowd, was followed by Russel.

Ferrari Miss the Pace

Another highlight of the race was the missing pace, Ferrari. Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz ended up in fifth and sixth position respectively which is a minute behind Verstappen. This proves to be in favour of Perez as he moved up to second place in the championship.

Daniel Ricciardo finished in seventh place and overcame a 10-second time penalty because of an early clash with Yuki Tsunoda.

On November 13, F1 will proceed to Interlagos for the penultimate round of the season.

Want more of the world of automotive – check out the social media pages of GoMotoring. Connect anywhere, Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.


John Doe
Indian Supercross Racing League Set for Media Launch and Logo Unveiling

Get ready to witness the ultimate battle of speed and skill...

John Doe
Formula 2 Sprint Race in Monaco: Jehan Daruvala finishes second

The Indian driver describes his Monaco Sprint Race performan...

John Doe
Extend the life of your car’s brakes with effective tips

As you are already aware, brakes are a crucial aspect of con...